Drogheda Grammar School was founded under Royal Charter in 1669 by Erasmus Smith and is one of the oldest secondary schools in Ireland, now enjoying its fourth century of continuous educational service to the community. Originally a boys’ boarding school, it has now been a co-educational school for over fifty years.

Drogheda Grammar School is owned by a company with charitable status called Drogheda Grammar School Ltd.  This structure was set up in the early 1950s when a group of local people (mostly Quakers) saved the school from closure. Although the school is not directly a Quaker school, it is run under the Quaker principle of “every individual is of value and has something to contribute”.

This philosophy is fundamental to the Mission Statement of the school.

The Board of Management

The Board of Management members are nominated by respective groups (teaching staff, parents, the Board of Directors) but are not representing them.  They become full board members who are now working on behalf of the school.

The Board of Management is responsible for the day to day running of the school.

The Board of Management delegates the day to day management duties to the Principal.

Board meetings are conducted on broadly Quaker lines. They start and finish with a period of reflection. When discussing issues and making decisions the Board will try to get a consensus rather than voting.  If members disagree with consensus then this may be recorded.

From time to time subcommittees are appointed to deal with specific issues such as premises, specific policies, strategic planning  etc.  The standing finance sub-committee meets before each BOM meeting.  This committee considers items with financial implications and makes recommendations to the BOM as required.


The Board of Management of Drogheda Grammar School comprises of:

Trustee/Director nominees out of which the Chairman is appointed.

These are:

Dr. Robert Berney (Chairman)

Ms. Penny Butler

Ms. Fiona Flynn

Mr. Karl Allen

Two teacher nominees:

Ms. Alice Donnelly
Ms. Mary O’Hagan

Two parent nominees:  

Ms. Orla Burke                                                                                                                                                                               

Ms. Emer Gallahar Hall
The Principal (Mr. Hugh Baker) is not a member of the BOM but undertakes the role of secretary.

Board of Directors/Trustees

There are currently nine Directors/Members of the Board of Directors.

One of these is a nominee of the Society of Friends (Quakers) – Ms. Penny Butler
Others have been past pupils, former BOM members, former teachers and parents.

Mr. Karl Allen

Mr. Richard Berney

Dr. Robert Berney

Ms. Penny Butler (Quaker Nominee)

Mr. David Doherty

Ms. Fiona Flynn

Mrs. Rosaire Kelly

Mr. John Maxwell

Rev. Richard Moore

The Principal – Mr Hugh Baker

The Principal is responsible for the day to day management and leadership of the school and is answerable to the Board of Management.